FAQ

Why do cars need motor oil?
Engine oil prevents the engine of a car from being damaged while driving. It lubricates the moving parts in the engine, e.g. the pistons, thus reducing mechanical friction. It also cools the parts that become hot during the journey and which cannot be reached by the coolant, protects against corrosion and cleans the engine from ash, soot and metallic abrasion.

Why do you have to change engine oil?
Engine oils wear out and must therefore be changed regularly. Reasons for wear and tear are natural oil ageing, degradation of additives and viscosity index improvers as well as contamination by combustion residues such as soot, sulphur oxides and water, dust from the atmosphere and mechanical abrasion. Filtering or topping up with fresh engine oil is not sufficient. In gasoline engines, which usually run short distances, the engine oil can also be diluted by unburned gasoline components. This lowers the viscosity and reduces the lubricity of the engine oil. Oil dilution can also occur in diesel engines with particulate filters.

Is it allowed to mix motor oils?
Oils of the same specification or quality can be mixed together, but it is not ideal. In exceptional cases, such as when the warning light for oil lights up on the way, it is certainly possible to top up low-grade oil (according to the vehicle manufacturer's specifications). Attention: In the long run, mixing different oils can cause engine damage! Therefore an oil change should be made as soon as possible.

How long can engine oil be stored?
Engine oil can be stored for a relatively long time in the sealed original container. However, the manufacturers recommend storing it for a maximum of three to five years. After this period, components of the chemical additives dissolved in the oil can precipitate, the additives are then no longer dissolved but form small lumps.
In addition, each container "breathes" because of changing ambient temperatures, i.e. it draws in outside air including moisture. This also reduces the performance of the engine oil through chemical-physical reactions with the additives.
In addition, technical progress in engine development requires oils with ever higher performance. Oil that has been stored too long no longer meets these requirements. It should be stored in opened containers for a maximum of six months.

Measure & check the oil level but correctly!
An incorrect oil level can cause engine damage. It should therefore be checked regularly when the engine is warm. Wait about two minutes after switching off the engine. During this time the oil has run out of the engine and into the oil pan. Only then pull out the dipstick, clean it with a cloth and then reinsert it until it stops.
Then pull it out again and read the level. The minimum and maximum oil level are marked on the dipstick, the oil film should reach at least to the middle between the two marks (more in the direction of the max line), but under no circumstances below or above it. One reason for too high an oil level can be oil dilution. A reason for too high an oil level can be oil dilution.

Why does oil need to be topped up?
If the measured oil film only reaches the minimum mark or is even below it, you must top up the oil as soon as possible. The filler neck is usually located on top of the engine, where exactly it is described in the operating instructions. How much oil you need to fill depends on the fill level and the amount of oil specified in the logbook. As a rule of thumb, there is approximately one litre of oil between the min and max marks. It is better to approach it slowly before you fill in too much oil. Important: Always wait a few minutes before measuring again so that the oil can settle.

Change interval according to OEM

Specification

Maximum intervals

VW 50400 / 50700

30.000 km / 2 years

VW 50200 / 50500

15.000 km / 1 year

PSA Level 2, 3, 4

30.000 km / 1 year

Ford WSS M2C 913 C

20.000 km / 1 year

Renault RN0700/0710/0720

30.000 km / 1 year

GM Dexos 2

30.000 km / 1 year

Fiat

30.000 km / 2 years

Toyota TGMA oder ACEA

15.000 km / 1 year

BMW LL-01 / LL 04

30.000 km / 1 year

Mercedes Benz 229.3/ 5/ 51

25.000 km / 1 year

Porsche A-40

30.000 km / 1 year

 

Viewed
Ausgezeichnet.org

FAQ

Warum brauchen Autos Motoröl?
Motoröl verhindert, dass der Motor eines Autos während der Fahrt beschädigt wird. Es schmiert die beweglichen Teile im Motor, z.B die Kolben und reduziert so die mechanische Reibung. Zudem kühlt es die Teile, die während der Fahrt heiß werden und an die das Kühlmittel nicht herankommt, schützt vor Korrosion und reinigt den Motor von Asche, Ruß und metallischem Abrieb.

Warum muss man Motoröl wechseln?
Motoröle nutzen sich ab und müssen daher regelmäßig gewechselt werden. Gründe für die Abnutzung sind die natürliche Öl-Alterung, der Abbau der Additive und der Viskositätsindex-Verbesserer sowie die Verschmutzung durch Verbrennungsrückstände wie Ruß, Schwefeloxide und Wasser, Staub aus der Atmosphäre und mechanischen Abrieb. Filterung oder Nachfüllen von frischem Motoröl genügen nicht. Bei Ottomotoren, die meist Kurzstrecke fahren, kann es ferner zu einer Verdünnung des Motoröls durch unverbrannte Benzin-Bestandteile kommen. Dadurch wird die Viskosität abgesenkt und die Schmierfähigkeit des Motoröls herabgesetzt. Ölverdünnung kann auch bei Dieselmotoren mit Partikelfilter auftreten.

Darf man Motoröle mischen?
Öle der gleichen Spezifikation bzw. Qualität können miteinander vermischt werden, ideal ist es aber nicht. In Ausnahmefällen, etwa, wenn unterwegs die Warnlampe für Öl aufleuchtet, kann man durchaus minderwertiges Öl (gemäß den Vorgaben Fahrzeugherstellers) nachfüllen. Achtung: Auf Dauer kann das Mischen verschiedener Öle Motorschäden verursachen! Daher sollte dann schnellstmöglich ein Ölwechsel gemacht werden.

Wie lange kann man Motoröl lagern?
Im verschlossenen Originalbehälter lässt sich Motoröl relativ lange lagern. Die Hersteller empfehlen allerdings, es höchstens drei bis maximal fünf Jahren aufzubewahren. Danach können Bestandteile der im Öl gelösten chemischen Additive ausfällen, die Zusätze sind dann nicht mehr gelöst, sondern bilden kleine Klumpen.
Außerdem „atmet“ jeder Behälter wegen wechselnder Umgebungstemperaturen, es zieht also Außenluft inklusive Feuchtigkeit ein. Auch das verringert durch chemisch-physikalische Reaktionen mit den Additiven die Leistungsfähigkeit des Motoröls.
Zudem erfordert der technische Fortschritt bei der Motorenentwicklung Öle mit immer höherer Leistungsfähigkeit. Zu lang gelagertes Öl wird diesen Ansprüchen nicht mehr gerecht. In angebrochenen Gebinden sollte es höchstens ein halbes Jahr aufbewahrt werden.

Ölstand messen & prüfen aber richtig!
Ein falscher Ölstand kann Motorschäden verursachen. Deshalb sollte er regelmäßig bei warmem Motor überprüft werden. Warten Sie nach dem Abstellen des Motors etwa zwei Minuten. In dieser Zeit ist das Öl aus dem Motor in die Ölwanne gelaufen. Ziehen Sie erst dann den Ölmessstab heraus, säubern Sie ihn mit einem Tuch und führen ihn dann wieder bis zum Anschlag ein.
Anschließend erneut herausziehen und den Stand ablesen. Auf dem Messstab sind der minimale und maximale Ölstand vermerkt, der Ölfilm sollte mindestens bis zur Mitte zwischen den beiden Markierungen (eher in Richtung Max-Strich) reichen, keinesfalls aber darunter oder darüber hinaus. Ein Grund für zu hohen Ölstand kann Ölverdünnung sein.

Warum müss Öl nachgefüllt werden?
Reicht der gemessene Ölfilm nur knapp bis zur Minimal-Markierung oder liegt sogar darunter, müssen Sie schleunigst Öl nachfüllen. Der Einfüllstutzen befindet sich meist oben auf dem Motor, wo genau, ist in der Betriebsanleitung beschrieben. Wieviel Öl Sie einfüllen müssen, hängt vom Füllstand und der im Bordbuch angegebenen Füllmenge ab. Als Faustregel gilt: Zwischen der Min- und Max-Markierung liegt ungefähr ein Liter Öl. Tasten Sie sich lieber langsam ran, bevor Sie zu viel einfüllen. Wichtig: Vor dem erneuten Messen immer ein paar Minuten warten, damit sich das Öl absetzen kann.

Wechselintervall laut OEM 

Spezifikation

Maximale Intervalle

VW 50400 / 50700

30.000 km / 2 Jahre

VW 50200 / 50500

15.000 km / 1 Jahr

PSA Level 2, 3, 4

30.000 km / 1 Jahr

Ford WSS M2C 913 C

20.000 km / 1 Jahr

Renault RN0700/0710/0720

30.000 km / 1 Jahr

GM Dexos 2

30.000 km / 1 Jahr

Fiat

30.000 km / 2 Jahre

Toyota TGMA oder ACEA

15.000 km / 1 Jahr

BMW LL-01 / LL 04

30.000 km / 1 Jahr

Mercedes Benz 229.3/ 5/ 51

25.000 km / 1 Jahr

Porsche A-40

30.000 km / 1 Jahr

 

Zuletzt angesehen
Ausgezeichnet.org